BSU Catalog Home


 

Section IV

Registration Policies

Current Students

Current students register for classes for the upcoming term during preregistration using Web registration. Preregistration dates are available from the academic calendar, or contact the Records and Registration Office (755-2020).

With the exception of those under Graduate Special Student status, students must consult with their assigned faculty advisor to discuss their course selection. Students pursuing licensure should contact the department chair/coordinator.

Returning Students

Students in good academic standing who have been absent from Bemidji State University for a semester or more (up to two years), may pre-register for classes using Web registration. Returning students should contact their previous faculty advisor or the major department chair for advice on course selection. Students may contact the School of Graduate Studies (218-755-2027; 888-386-8464) or the Records and Registration Office (755-2020) to determine eligibility to return to the university if they are unsure of their academic status.

Note

Not all of the courses listed in this catalog are offered every term. To find out which courses are offered, refer to the semester Class Schedule. The Class Schedule contains courses, times, locations and instructors. Descriptions of the courses are not included in the schedule. They are given at the end of each program listing in this catalog. The descriptions also include course prerequisites.

Fee statements are not mailed out by the Cashier's Office. It is the student's responsibility to access their bill online (go to myBSU on the BSU homepage, then MNSCU E-Services) and make arrangements accordingly to prevent being dropped for non-payment. Full payment or a payment plan must be in place prior to the published deadline in the academic calendar or students will be dropped from their registration. For information on tuition and fee due dates, please see Graduate Tuition and Fees, Section III, or visit the Tuition and Fees section of the Business Services website.

Dropped for Non-payment

Tuition and fees should be paid in full by no later than fifteen days prior to the beginning of the semester, or the student will be dropped from all classes for non-payment. However, a student will not be dropped for non-payment if any one of the following criteria is met:

  1. The student has applied for Federal Financial Aid and the university has received the FAFSA results from the U.S. Department of Education.
  2. The student has made a minimum down payment to tuition and fees of 15 percent or $300, whichever is less.
  3. The student has a scholarship or third party award that meets the minimum down payment amount. 
  4. The student has an active payment plan contract with FACTS Management.
  5. The student’s tuition and fees are deferred for special hardship cases such as sudden illness, a death in the family, or natural disaster.
 For more information, visit the Business Services website or call them at 218-755-2052.

Immunization Requirements

Minnesota law requires that all students born after 1956 and enrolled in a public or private post-secondary school in Minnesota be immunized against diphtheria, tetanus, measles, mumps, and rubella, allowing for certain exemptions. Students are required to sign a form stating that they have been immunized. The immunization form is available on the Student Center for Health and Counseling website, from where it can be downloaded, printed, and either faxed or mailed to the Center.

Registration Procedures

  1. Registration is not complete until tuition charges and fees incurred at registration have been paid in accordance with University procedures. Preregistered students are requested to comply with the payment deadline specified in the semester Class Schedule.
  2. Late registrants must obtain instructors' approval to register for classes.
  3. A hold will be placed on registration for students who have not paid any tuition charges and fees as of fifteen days prior to the beginning of the semester during the academic year or fifteen days prior to the beginning of the summer term (see Dropped for Non-payment above).
  4. Students must obtain instructor approval to register for a class after the "last day to add" date published in the semester class schedule.
  5. Grades, transcripts, and diplomas will not be released for students who have outstanding financial obligations at the close of a semester or summer term.

Add, Drop, or Change of Courses

The following guidelines apply unless otherwise noted in the current Class Schedule.

  1. Schedule changes may be made without financial obligation through the fifth class day of the semester.
  2. Students must obtain instructor approval to register for a class after the "last day to add" date published in the Academic Calendar.
  3. An instructor may decide to drop a student who does not attend the first three class meetings.
  4. Students may withdraw (drop) from a course at any time up to the last twenty-five (25) instructional days (five [5] days in summer) unless otherwise noted in the current semester class schedule--after this time, no course may be dropped except in special hardship cases. A student wishing to withdraw from a course must follow the proper procedure using the Web registration option. Courses dropped after the fifth day of classes will be assigned a "W" grade.
  5. No refunds for dropped courses will be given after the fifth class day of the semester (first class day in summer) unless otherwise noted in the current Class Schedule (for summer term information, contact the Records and Registration Office).
  6. No course may be dropped during the last twenty-five (25) instructional days of the semester (last five [5] days of summer) except in special hardship cases.
  7. No student is added or dropped from a course until the proper procedure is followed using the Web registration option.
  8. Withdrawal from classes could affect continued eligibility for financial aid. For details, visit the Financial Aid website.
  9. See Withdrawal from School in this section for withdrawal from all courses.

Repeating Courses

Apart from those courses whose descriptions state they may be repeated, any course may be repeated for the purpose of replacing the former grade with a new grade. Any student wishing to do this must file a Repeat Form with the Records and Registration Office. Once the form is filed, the new grade, whether higher, the same, or lower, will be substituted for the original grade in computing the grade point average and total semester credits applied toward graduation. However, the original course and its grade will remain on the transcript. Classes originally taken for a letter grade must be repeated for a letter grade.

Prerequisites and Corequisites

A prerequisite is a course that must be taken or an experience that must be acquired prior to registration for the course that lists the prerequisite. Departments may waive prerequisites in specific cases.

A corequisite is a course that must be taken or an experience that must be acquired concurrent with enrollment in the course that lists the corequisite. Departments may waive corequisites in specific cases.

It is the prerogative of the instructor to drop students from a class if they have not completed the prerequisites and/or corequisites as listed in the college catalog.

Auditing Courses

Students who desire to take a course without credit and without regard for the usual prerequisites may enroll on an audit basis. These students must notify the instructor that they are auditing. Auditing students must pay the regular fees required of other students, but they are not permitted to take examinations. Audited courses can be neither counted toward graduation requirements nor counted as part of the student's course load. Grades are recorded only as "AU"-audit.


BSU Catalog Home | BSU Home
Catalog Editor: catalog@bemidjistate.edu