The BSU Psychology Department awards the following scholarships; you can learn more by contacting the Chair of the Psychology Department.

BSU also offers a variety of other scholarships (e.g., the BSU Alumni Relative Scholarship); more information is available through the BSU Financial Aid Office.

Congratulations to the 2014-15 Recipients!

Melissa Felt (Bender Scholarship)
Katie Sandquist (Rafferty Scholarship)
Ryan Chanen (Lee-Jackson Scholarship)

The Bender Scholarship

This scholarship was originally endowed by Ms. June Bender (1977), a graduate of BSU’s Community Service program (now the Psychology major). This scholarship is awarded each year to an outstanding student majoring in Psychology; preference is given to females who are non-traditional students with applied interests, reflecting Ms. Bender’s own educational path. (2014-2015 award will be $600.)

The Dyrhaug Scholarship

This scholarship was originally endowed by Dr. Donald Dyrhaug, a Professor Emeritus in Psychology and former Chair of the Department of Psychology. This scholarship is awarded in alternate years to an outstanding student majoring in Psychology or Music. (There will not be a 2014-15 award.)

The Lee-Jackson Scholarship

This scholarship was originally endowed by Dr. Louise Jackson and Dr. Russell Lee, Professors Emeriti in Psychology.  This scholarship is awarded to a rising junior or senior majoring in psychology, with a minimum 3.25 GPA.  Students of color are particularly encouraged to apply.

The Rafferty Scholarship(s)

These scholarships were originally endowed by Mr. Kirk Gregg, a BSU Psychology major.  Mr. Gregg announced the endowment on the 25th anniversary of his graduation from BSU; the scholarships were given in the name of Dr. Jim Rafferty because of the impact he had on Mr. Gregg’s life as an undergraduate at BSU.  The endowment was intended to award two $2500 scholarships each year to outstanding students majoring in Psychology who demonstrate an interest in research psychology. (Because of the investment environment, one award of $3200 was made in 2013-14.)