Honors Council

The Honors Council is the advisory group to the Honors Program.

Its twelve members include faculty from all three of the University’s colleges. Student representatives are elected to the Council by their cohorts for terms of one academic year.

Dr. Marsha Driscoll
Director of the Honors Program
Department: Psychology
Office: HS 211
Phone: (218) 755-2848
mdriscoll@bemidjistate.edu
Janet Heuer, J.D.
Department: Criminal Justice
Office: BE 307
Phone: (218) 755-2833
JHeuer@bemidjistate.edu
Dr. Mahmoud Al-Odeh
Department: Tech Art and Design
Office: BN 229
Phone: (218) 755-2950
malodeh@bemidjistate.edu
Dr. Susan Rickers
Department: Social Work
Office: HS 377
Phone: (218) 755-2835
SRickers@bemidjistate.edu
Dr. Tammy Bobrowsky
Library and Library Services
Office: L 231
Phone: (218) 755-4410
tbobrowsky@bemidjistate.edu
Dr. Jeff Ueland
Department: Geography
Office: HS 238
Phone: (218) 755-2805
jueland@bemidjistate.edu
Dr. Mark Christensen
Department: English
Office: HS 302
Phone: (218) 755-3356
mchristensen@bemidjistate.edu
Dr. Janine Wahl
Department: Professional Educ.
Office: BE 327
Phone: (218) 755-3733
jwahl@bemidjistate.edu
Dr. Mary Fairbanks
Department: Nursing
Office: S S207C
Phone: (218) 755-2523
mfairbanks@bemidjistate.edu
Dr. James White
Department: Physical Educ.
Office: PE 207
Phone: (218) 755-2766
jwhite@bemidjistate.edu
Dr. Andrew Hafs
Department: Biology
Office: S 218A
Phone: (218) 755-2789
AHafs@bemidjistate.edu
Dr. Marty Wolf
Department: Computer Science
Office: HS 361
Phone: (218) 755-2825
mwolf@bemidjistate.edu
Dr. Colleen Livingston
Department: Mathematics
Office: HG 362
Phone: (218) 755-2843
clivingston@bemidjistate.edu

Honors Faculty

For over three decades, the Honors Program has been staffed by faculty-at-large who are invited to submit course proposals to the Honors Council for approval. Most Honors courses are team-taught by gifted faculty from widely disparate disciplines.

From its inception, the Honors Program has been dedicated to disciplinary rigor and ongoing classroom experimentation. This dedication creates and maintains the dynamics of the program. As Bemidji State University has expanded its curriculum into interdisciplinary programs, the Honors Program has served as the model of interdisciplinarity.