Skip Navigation

BSU News - News & Updates


Nominations being accepted for Northwest Minnesota Women’s Hall of Fame

BEMIDJI, Minn. (Nov. 3, 2009) — The Northwest Minnesota Women’s Hall of Fame, sponsored in part by Bemidji State University, will be accepting nominations for its 12th induction class until Tuesday, Dec. 1.

Entering its 12th year, the Hall of Fame is a collaborative project sponsored by the Northwest Minnesota Women’s Fund, a component of the Northwest Minnesota Foundation, and Bemidji State University. The Hall of Fame provides permanent recognition for women of northwestern Minnesota who have made significant contributions to art, athletics, business, government, philanthropy, humanities, science or education.

Nominees, who may be living or deceased, must demonstrate a connection to the area of northwest Minnesota that includes the counties of Beltrami, Cass, Clearwater, Hubbard, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake and Roseau.

A selection board will review the nominees based on the person’s significant contribution to art, athletics, business, government, philanthropy, humanities, science or education. In particular, the nominee’s achievements and contributions must be of enduring and lasting value to society, significant groups within the region, or to the progress and freedom of women.

In addition to the individual’s contributions, the nomination should include the person’s accomplishments, biographical data, educational background and awards. Additional items such as evidence of a lasting legacy, including the nominee’s impact in the region, news articles or publications written either by or about the nominee, and letters of support are strongly encouraged.

Women are inducted into the Hall of Fame in the spring. The ceremony is held in conjunction with a variety of activities to celebrate March as National Women’s History Month. Twenty-three women have been inducted into the Hall of Fame, including 2009 inductees Dr. Patricia Rosenbrock and Dolores Clack.

Nomination materials and biographical sketches on the hall’s 23 current members are available on its Web site. For more information about the Northwest Women’s Hall of Fame or the nomination process, please contact Lisa Peterson, communications director, Northwest Minnesota Foundation, at (218) 759-2057, toll-free (800) 659-7859, or via e-mail at

• Northwest Minnesota Women’s Hall of Fame:

About Bemidji State University Bemidji State University, located in northern Minnesota’s lake district, occupies a wooded campus along the shore of Lake Bemidji. Enrolling more than 5,000 students, the University offers more than 50 undergraduate majors and nine graduate programs encompassing arts, sciences and select professional programs. The University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system and has a faculty and staff of more than 550. University signature themes include environmental stewardship, civic engagement and global and multi-cultural understanding. For further information about the University, visit Become a fan of Bemidji State University on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.