Skip Navigation

BSU News - News & Updates


14 retiring Bemidji State faculty to earn emeritus status at 2011 commencement

BEMIDJI, Minn. (April 29, 2010) — Fourteen faculty members with a combined total of 377.5 years of service to Bemidji State University will be named professors emeriti during the University’s 92nd commencement excercises, Friday, May 6, at Bemidji’s Sanford Center.

Faculty who retire from the University with at least 15 years of service are eligible to receive emeriti status.

The group of 2011 emeriti are:

• Dr. William Brauer, professor emeritus of technological studies; 17 years at Bemidji State.
• Mr. James Brouwer, professor emeritus of professional education; 24 years at Bemidji State.
• Mr. Philip Dahl, professor emeritus of TRiO/Student Support Services; 37 years at Bemidji State.
• Dr. Elaine Hoffman, professor emerita of technological studies; 15 years at Bemidji State.
• Dr. Stevens Johnson, professor emeritus of physics; 26 years at Bemidji State.
• Dr. Steven Konecne, professor emeritus of music; 30.5 years at Bemidji State.
• Dr. Robert Ley, professor emeritus of economics; 31 years at Bemidji State.
• Dr. Kathleen Meyer, professor emerita of German and French; 21 years at Bemidji State.
• Ms. Mary Ann Reitmeir, professor emerita of social work; 29 years at Bemidji State.
• Dr. Patrick Riley, professor emeritus of music, 38 years at Bemidji State.
• Mr. Stuart Rosselet, professor emeritus of library and library services; 28 years at Bemidji State.
• Dr. Rochelle Scheela, professor emerita of nursing; 28 years at Bemidji State.
• Mr. David Carlson, registrar emeritus; 31 years at Bemidji State.
• Ms. LaMae Ritchie, director emerita of the International Program Center; 32 years at Bemidji State.

Also during commencement, which begins with the traditional walk a few minutes before 2 p.m., approximately 860 students will be eligible to receive degrees.

For more information on commencement ceremonies at Bemidji State University, visit

About Bemidji State University Bemidji State University, located in northern Minnesota’s lake district, occupies a wooded campus along the shore of Lake Bemidji. Enrolling more than 5,000 students, the University offers more than 50 undergraduate majors and nine graduate programs encompassing arts, sciences and select professional programs. The University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system and has a faculty and staff of more than 550. University signature themes include environmental stewardship, civic engagement and global and multi-cultural understanding. For further information about the University, visit Become a fan of Bemidji State University on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.