Skip Navigation

2011-2012 President's Student Commission

Who They Are:
The President's Student Commission for the 2011-2012 Academic Year included Ernest Ang, Lewis Bauman, Marlie Johansen, Joseph Kaiser, Laura Lee, Nicholi Ludlow, Maria McLeod, Brian Ophus, Margaret Penn, Samantha Peter, Dylan Sievers, Paul Voss, and Kaoru Yamaguchi.

Their Project:
The topic presented to this year's commission was to explore the relationships of the University community with Bemidji and other outside entities.  The research examined three aspects of community regarding BSU:

  • Internal BSU Community
  • Bemidji Community
  • Global Community

The research was important in discovering the current atmosphere of BSU and in understanding how people internally and externally view the University.  With the data collected, the commission developed concrete suggestions to improve the BSU community with the intention of increasing retention of the BSU student body and to improve the overall experience.

The President's Student Commission presented their work during the 13th Annual Student Scholarship & Creative Achievement Conference held on the BSU campus on Wednesday, April 4, 2012. 

Bemidji State University Building Campus, Local and Global Community