Darwin G. Thorbeck Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is in memory of Darwin G. Thorbeck.

Darwin was born in Bagley in 1938 and graduated from Bagley High School in 1956. He attended Augsburg College in Minneapolis, after which he enlisted and served in the U.S. Army and received an appointment to West Point. He attended the University of Minnesota and graduated with a degree in Journalism. Later, he worked in Minneapolis as the late night news and weather reporter. Darwin moved to New York City and became an early believer in the power of electronic data processing. In the early 1970’s, he founded Thor Data Inc., a pioneering firm in inventory management and market research, which counted amongst its clients Kings County Hospital and General Foods.

In 1984, he married Dr. Romola Karumbaya, a neuro-surgeon from Pennsylvania. Darwin was a citizen of the world; he traveled extensively and enjoyed meeting people from various cultures. He loved tennis, woodworking, landscaping, history, genealogy and photography.

While Darwin successfully navigated the emerging data processing field in the 1970’s, he did not receive formal training and education in the area. This award aims to provide opportunity to graduates from Bagley High School looking to pursue their educational and career aspirations in the areas of Computer Science and Computer Information Systems at Bemidji State University.


The Darwin G. Thorbeck Memorial Scholarship is to be awarded to a graduate of Bagley High School (preference given to entering freshmen), with a declared major of Computer Science or Computer Information Systems, a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. Scholarships are renewable for up to four years if recipient maintains a cumulative 3.0 GPA, continues to declare CS or CIS as their major, and takes at least one course within the Computer Science program each semester. Entering students are required to take CS 1309 and CS 2321 within the first year of study.

Past Scholarship Winners

  • 2019-2020 Kailee Stenseng
  • 2017-2018 Kailee Stenseng
  • 2016-2017 Kaci Cooper, Kailee Stenseng