Faculty

The faculty of the Department of Music are committed to the intellectual, musical, and social growth of all student musicians who attend Bemidji State University.

Scott Guidry, Instructor of High Brass, Director of BandsScott Guidry, M.M.

Chair, Associate Professor

Specialty: Director of Bands, High Brass

Bangsberg Hall 359
Phone: (218) 755-3365
Box #: 16
scott.guidry@bemidjistate.edu


James Bowyer, Bemidji State UniversityJames Bowyer, D.M.A.

Associate Professor

Specialty:  Music Education, Bel Canto

Bangsberg Hall 369
Phone: (218) 755-3361
Box #: 16
james.bowyer@bemidjistate.edu


Dr. Stephen Carlson, Bemidji State University Professor of Piano, Piano Pedagogy, Piano Literature, Music HistoryStephen Carlson, D.M.A.

Professor

Specialty: Piano, Piano Pedagogy, Piano Literature, Music History

Bangsberg 337
Phone: (218) 755-3997
Box #: 16
stephen.carlson@bemidjistate.edu


Dwight Jilek, D.M.A.

Associate Professor

Specialty: Director of Choral Activities, The Bemidji Choir, Bemidji Chamber Singers, Musikanten, Conducting, Choral Methods, and Choral Literature

Performances:

Bangsberg 347
Phone: (218) 755-2855
Box #: 16
dwight.jilek@bemidjistate.edu


Hilary Lowery, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor

Specialty: Clarinet, Saxophone, Contemporary Ensemble
Website: Hilary Lowery
Performances:

Bangsberg 325
Phone: (218) 755-3931
Box #: 16
hilary.lowery@bemidjistate.edu


Eric Olson, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor

Specialty: Strings

Performances:

Bangsberg 318
Phone: (218) 755-3941
Box #: 16
eric.olson2@bemidjistate.edu


Jennifer Olson, D.M.A.

Assistant Professor

Specialty: Vocal Performance

Performances:

Bangsberg 323
Phone: (218) 755-2198
Box #: 16
jennifer.olson@bemidjistate.edu


Cory Renbarger, D.M.A.

Associate Professor 

Specialty: Vocal Performance, Opera

Performances:

Bangsberg 349
Phone: (218) 755-2867
Box #: 16
cory.renbarger@bemidjistate.edu


Miriam Webber, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Specialty: Music Theory, Bassoon

Bangsberg 367
Phone: (218) 755-3360
Box #: 16
miriam.webber@bemidjistate.edu


Adjunct Instructors

Greg Gaston

Adjunct Instructor 

Bangsberg Hall 360
Box #: 16
greg.gaston@bemidjistate.edu


Heather Guidry, M.M.

Adjunct Instructor 

Specialty: Oboe

Bangsberg Hall 370
Box #: 16
heather.guidry@bemidjistate.edu


Eric Gustafson, M.M.

Adjunct Instructor 

Specialty: Collaborative Piano, Coaching

Bangsberg 335
Box #: 16
eric.gustafson@bemidjistate.edu


Curtis Olson, M.M.

Adjunct Instructor

Specialty:  Low Brass

Bangsberg 361
Box #: 16
curtis.olson@bemidjistate.edu


Louis Samsa

Adjunct Instructor 

Specialty: Guitar

Performances:

Bangsberg 312
Box #: 16
louis.samsa@bemidjistate.edu


Magdalena Sas, D.M.A.

Adjunct Instructor 

Specialty: Cello

Performances:

Bangsberg 348
Box #: 16
magdaline.sas@bemidjistate.edu


Eric Sundeen

Adjunct Instructor 

Specialty: Percussion, Percussion Ensemble

Bangsberg 111
Box #: 16
eric.sundeen@bemidjistate.edu


Ryan Webber, M.M.

Adjunct Instructor 

Specialty: Low Brass, Symphonic Band, Pep Band

Bangsberg 361
Box #: 16
ryan.webber@bemidjistate.edu


Sarah Weisbrod, M.M.

Adjunct Instructor 

Specialty: Flute

Bangsberg 362
Box #: 16
sarah.weisbrod@bemidjistate.edu


Dan Will

Adjunct Instructor 

Specialty: Collaborative Piano, Coaching

Bangsberg 368
Box #: 16
dan.will@bemidjistate.edu


Skip to toolbar