Bemidji State University
By-Laws Of Environmental Advisory Committee (EAC) (1/19/98)

“It is important that the University becomes more environmentally literate and sensitive. To this end, I would like to establish an Environmental Task Force to make recommendations to the University Cabinet on pertinent environmental issues.”

–The late Dr. Leslie Duly 10-22-92

Art. I Statement of Purpose

The fundamental purpose continues as articulated by the late Dr. Les Duly. The need to address these concerns on a long-term, sustained basis is reflected in the conversion of the task force into a more permanent standing committee. The Environmental Advisory Committee will assist the university in meeting its goals as stated in the Environmental Policy Statement, drafted 6-12-97.

Art. II Membership

The EAC shall consist of a maximum of 19 voting members. Each voting member shall hold office for a term of 2 years.

Art. III Selection of Voting Members

Members shall be chosen by the bargaining units and constituent groups identified below.

  • 5 Faculty members, 1 from each of the three colleges and 2 at large faculty members, appointed by the IFO,
  • 5 students: 2 members of Students for the Environment and 3 students at large, appointed by the Student Senate
  • 1 member appointed by MSUAASF
  • 1 member appointed by MAPE
  • 1 member appointed by Middle Management
  • 1 member appointed by Council 6
  • a representative of the vendor providing food service
  • a representative of Residential Life*
  • a representative of Hobson Memorial Union*
  • the Environmental Health and Safety Coordinator*
  • the Director of Physical Plant or designee*

*(these members may also be appointees of one of the bargaining units mentioned above)

Art. IV Filling of Vacancies in Voting Membership

Vacancies may occur due to resignation, inability to complete the term, or upon majority vote of the current membership after a member has missed at least 3 consecutive meetings. Vacancies will be filled when a successor is chosen by the constituent group, bargaining unit, etc. which the member represents, as specified above in Article III.

Art. V Meetings of Membership

Meetings of membership shall be open to all interested parties in the University community but only voting members are eligible to vote on motions before the committee.

Art. VI Officers

Officers (Chair and Recording Secretary) will be elected by a majority of voting membership to a 1 year term.