Skip Navigation

The 2015-16 Timelines for PDP/PDR, promotion, tenure, sabbatical requests and non-renewal information for faculty members is posted under Academic and Student Affairs within Faculty Resources. 

An Educational Community

The office of Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs is central to sustaining the University’s efforts to create and sustain an educational community.  Faculty and staff work with those in the Academic Affairs office to plan, coordinate, and implement policies and practices that enhance student learning. 

The Academic Affairs office supports and facilitates BSU’s:

  • Academic Colleges: CAS, CBTC, HSHE, Nursing
  • Academic planning, programming, and assessment
  • Selection, review and professional development of faculty
  • Academic support services
  • Institutional Research
  • International Studies and International Council
  • Library services
  • Academic records
  • University Honors program
  • Women’s Studies Gender Studies
  • Center for Professional Development
  • Liberal Education
  • Graduate Studies
  • International Program Center

Academic Mission

Bemidji State University is an undergraduate institution with specialized and distinct graduate programs where academic content and delivery of that content is grounded in the principles of social justice and democracy.

Academic Core Values

  1. Creative and critical thinking.
  2. Living democratic principles.
  3. Inclusion of students, staff, faculty and administrators in all aspects of university life.
  4. Highly interactive, relevant and engaging teaching and learning environments.


Randy Westhoff,  Assistant Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs (interim)

Diane Backer,  Executive Assistant


Laurie Desiderato, Center for Professional Development

Marsha Driscoll, Honors

Bev Hodgson, Registrar (interim)

Vacant, Graduate Studies

Carla Norris-Raynbird, Women's Studies/Gender Studies

Doug Olney, Institutional Research

Vacant, Liberal Education

Sanjeev Phukan, International Relations

Cherish Hagen-Swanson, International Program Center

Dennis Lunt, Leadership Program