Student Senate to host Sept. 30 political debate

BEMIDJI, Minn. — The Bemidji State University Student Senate will be sponsoring a political debate amongst candidates running for local and state offices on Tuesday, Sept. 30. The debate will be held in room 100 of Hagg-Sauer Hall on the Bemidji State campus.

The event will begin with opening remarks at 7 p.m., and at 7:05 p.m. the debates will get underway with a session featuring candidates for Bemidji City Council seats in Ward 1 and Ward 3. A debate between Bemidji mayoral candidates will be held at 8:15 p.m., and at 9 p.m. the debates will conclude with candidates for Minnesota state representative from District 4A.

Rachelle Hanson Houle and Kevin Waldhausen are running for the city council seat representing Ward 1; incumbent Ron Johnson and Charles “Chuck” Stombaugh are running for the seat representing Ward 3. The Bemidji mayoral race features Nancy L. Erickson running against incumbent Richard Lehmann. The District 4A state representative race features John Persell and John Carlson.

The debate is scheduled to end at approximately 9:45 p.m.

The Bemidji State Student Senate is hosting the debate in support of its voter registration and education initiatives.

For more information, please contact Student Senate Co-President Becky Boe at (218) 755-2099.