Nine faculty members to receive emeriti designation

BEMIDJI, Minn. — Nine faculty members with a combined total of 240 years of service to Bemidji State University will be named professors emeriti during the University’s 90th commencement excercises tomorrow at John Glas Fieldhouse.

Faculty who retire from the University with at least 15 years of service are eligible to receive emeriti status.

The group of 2009 emeriti are:

• Ms. Sandra L. Rasmus – assistant emerita to the vice president for academic affairs, 34 years;
• Dr. James L. Richards – professor emeritus of computer science, 33 years;
• Dr. David E. Kingsbury – professor emeritus of technological studies, 31 years;
• Dr. Stephen I. Gurney – professor emeritus of English, 31 years;
• Ms. Kathleen C. Hatch – director emerita of First Year Experience/orientation, 29 years;
• Dr. Ranae Womack – professor emerita of nursing, 23 years;
• Dr. Dale L. Sakrison – professor emeritus of education, 21 years;
• Mr. Leo D. Morgan, Jr. – director emeritus of academic technology, 20 years;
• Dr. Mark Schmit – professor emeritus of technological studies, 18 years.

Also during commencement, which begins with the traditional walk across campus at 1:25 p.m., approximately 850 students will be eligible to receive degrees and Don Shelby, long-time television anchor with WCCO-TV in Minneapolis, will be recognized as the recipient of the 2009 Distinguished Minnesotan Award.

For more information on commencement ceremonies at Bemidji State University, please contact the Records Office, located in Deputy Hall on the Bemidji State campus, at (218) 755-2020.