Nursing department chair to serve on national subcommittee

BEMIDJI, Minn. (May 27, 2010) — Dr. Jeanine Gangeness, chair of the Department of Nursing at Bemidji State University, will serve on the American Association of Colleges of Nursing’s Faculty Development Conference Subcommittee for a two-year term through March of 2012.

The subcommittee is responsible for assisting in the planning of the themes, topcs and speakers for a pair of conferences; the first will be held Feb. 11-13 in Austin, Texas, and the second will be held in Feb. 2012.

“It is a great honor to serve on the Faculty Development Conference Subcommittee for the American Association of Colleges of Nursing,” Gangeness said. “Since 2006, nursing enrollment at Bemidji State has grown by more than 500 percent, which has necessitated the hiring of new professional nursing faculty. We’ve gone from four nurse-experts to 13 since 2006. As chair of the department, I feel responsible for the growth and development of these new faculty mamebers. I hope to bring ideas about the topics these new faculty members are clamoring to learn more about to the conference committee.”

Gangeness will be joined on the subcommittee by Dr. Jean Giddens, University of New Mexico; Dr. Phil Greiner, Fairfield University; Dr. Patricia Morton, University of Maryland; Dr. Wendy Nehring, East Tennessee State University; Dr. Shirley Girouard, San Francisco State University; and
Dr. Stephanie Stewart, Chamberlain College of Nursing. The subcommittee will be chaired by Dr. Roberta Olson, South Dakota State University.

2011 Faculty Development Conference