Former Bemidji State President Quistgaard receives emeritus status from MnSCU

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees today awarded president emeritus status to four former Minnesota State Colleges and Universities presidents – Cheryl Frank of Inver Hills Community College, Kathleen Nelson of Lake Superior College, Jon Quistgaard of Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College, and Ann Wynia of North Hennepin Community College.

Board of Trustees Chair Scott Thiss said: “These presidents have served their institutions and the system well. Each of them can be proud of the accomplishments during their tenure at the institutions.”

President emeritus status is awarded upon recommendation of the chancellor to a president or former president who has provided exemplary service, completed at least five years as president of a state university or college and is retiring from employment with the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.

Three presidents also were honored for their length of services. Donovan Schwichtenberg has served as 20 years at Saint Paul College, and Donald Supalla, Rochester Community and Technical College, and Larry Litecky, Century College, have served 10 years.

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system comprises 32 state universities and community and technical colleges serving the higher education needs of Minnesota. The system serves about 260,000 students per year in credit-based courses and an additional 164,000 students in noncredit courses.

Release courtesy Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.
Original release here.
Contact: Melinda Voss (651) 201-1804,