Bemidji State University wins MnSCU award for management excellence

BEMIDJI, Minn. (February 25, 2011) — Bemidji State University was noted for excellence in financial management by the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system, the system office announced yesterday.

The system’s Excellence in Financial Management awards are given for significant contributions to increased efficiency and effectiveness of finances and administrative services throughout the institution.

Bemidji State was one of 12 institutions to receive the honor; the others were Hennepin Technical College; Minneapolis Community and Technical College; Minnesota State Community and Technical College; Minnesota State College – Southeast Technical; Minnesota State University, Mankato;  Riverland Community College; St. Cloud State University; St. Cloud Technical and Community College; Saint Paul College; and Winona State University.

The system’s awards program, which began in 1997, publicly recognizes the outstanding contributions of the system’s college and university employees who work in finance and facilities management. The 2010 award winners were selected from nominations made by presidents and college and university leadership.

“We are proud that we have so many outstanding employees,” Laura King, the system’s vice chancellor and chief financial officer, said in a released statement. “With their leadership and the assistance of every employee at every Minnesota state college and university, tremendous progress continues in finance, facilities and administrative excellence.”

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system comprises 32 state universities, community colleges, technical colleges and combined community and technical colleges located on 54 campuses across the state. The system serves approximately 277,000 students annually in credit-based courses and another 157,000 in non-credit courses.