Hometown News: 2012-13 President's Student Commission

Sixteen students have been appoint by Bemidji State University President Richard A. Hanson to take membership in his Student Commission. For the 2012-2013 school year, commission members are not only local students but national and international students as well.

The President’s Student Commission is charged with advising President Hanson on how to improve Bemidji State by developing solutions for problems faced by the University. The commission will work on one issue identified by the president and employ a process of discovery in working to identify issues and solutions.

The commission is comprised of students representing different constituencies on campus. Nominations were solicited during the fall semester from faculty and staff, as well as self-nominations from students. Commissioners must have and maintain a cumulative grade-point average of 2.5 and serve on the commission for one academic year.

The President’s Student Commission meets monthly with Mary Ward, Bemidji State’s interim vice president for student development and enrollment, and at least once per semester with other administrators on campus. In the spring, the commission will present a report on its assigned issue to the president and the president’s cabinet.

For more information, please contact Mary Ward, interim vice president for student development and enrollment, at mward@bemidjistate.edu or (218) 755-2075.

2012-13 President’s Student Commission at Bemidji State University

Bemidji |56601| Vincent Staples-Graves, sophomore, social studies education
Andover |55304| Chelsea Lipski, junior, social studies education
Baxter |56425| Kirsten Goldstein, junior, international studies
Chisholm |55719| Kayla Jensen, junior, elementary education
Cloquet |55720| Morgan Bartlett, sophomore, english
Dawson |56232| Andrew Roiger, sophomore, business administration
Hibbing |55746| Krysta Miller, sophomore, mathematics
Maple Grove |55311| Dan Rekuski, freshman, accounting
Milaca |56353| Matthew Meyers, senior, sport management
Osage |56570| Chloe Streeper, sophomore, exercise science
Owatonna |55060| Bethany Thompson, junior, physical education
Ramsey |55303| Jake Mechtel, sophomore, accounting
Rochert |56578| Laura Christensen, junior, biology

Thompson |58278| Bryan Syrstad, senior, physical education

Taiping |34000| Phoebe Mathius, senior, design technology

Baglung |977| Gopal Sapkota, junior, chemistry