2013-14 Presidential Scholarship winners announced

Bemidji State University understands the rising cost of higher education and is committed to offering a variety of scholarship opportunities to as many students as possible. More than 30 percent of all new entering students receive scholarships.

Local students have accepted a $10,000 Presidential Scholarship from Bemidji State University for the 2013-2014 academic year.

To receive a Presidential Scholarship, students must have a 28 or higher score on the ACT and be in the top 10 percent of their graduating class, or have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.8 or above.

Presidential Scholarships are four-year awards for a total of $10,000; recipients must maintain full-time enrollment status and an overall GPA of 3.25 to remain eligible for renewals.

Students must be admitted prior to Feb. 1 in order to receive scholarships for the fall semester of that year.

BSU will present more than $2.3 million in academic, talent, and leadership scholarships this year. The awards are made possible through donations to the BSU Foundation, the Alumni Association, and other organizations that specify funds for such causes.

For more information, contact the Office of Admissions and Scholarships, (218) 755-2040, (888) 345-1721. Additional information on scholarships at Bemidji State is available at the Office of Admissions and Scholarships.

Bemidji|56601| Alexis Boyer, freshman, creative writing
Bemidji|56601| Callie Johnson, freshman, criminal justice

Baxter|56425| Brooke Nelson, freshman, music
Becker|55308| Jennifer Scheeler, freshman, nursing
Belgrade|56312| Aaron Stalboerger, freshman, accounting
Brainerd|56401| Shianna Gustason, freshman, business administration
Coleraine|55722| Shelby Andrist, junior, secondary education
Crosslake|56442| Morgan Demars, freshman, undecided
Fertile|56540| Elizabeth Engelstad, freshman, undecided
Kelliher|56650| Cassie Vollhaber, freshman, business
Le Sueur|56058| Jolie Richter, freshman, biology
Osakis|56360| Avery Franzen, freshman, education
Pine River|56474| Carla Votz, nursing
Pine River|56474| Meghan Wheeler, freshman, science education
Royalton|56373| Justin Opatz, freshman, accounting
Zimmerman|55398| Ethan Luing, freshman, mathematics education

Schofield|54476| Alayna Krejci, freshman, undecided

Elk Grove Village|60007| Sarah Stram, freshman, pre-veterinary medicine