BSU students win Sheriffs’ Association scholarships

Three Bemidji State University criminal justice majors are among this year’s group of 13 winners of Minnesota Sheriffs’ Association scholarships.

Each year, the association awards scholarships to Minnesota students who plan to become Minnesota peace officers after graduation. Students apply for the scholarships through their local sheriff’s office.


Bemidji State’s winners were:
• Tyler Carraway, a senior from Pine River, Minn., majoring in criminal justice (pictured, with Beltrami County Sheriff Phil Hodapp (left) and Chief Deputy Ernie Beitel (right));
• Wilford “Willie” Dellwo, a senior from Shakopee, Minn., majoring in criminal justice and biology; and
• Danielle Walbridge, a senior from Milaca, Minn., majoring in criminal justice.

“The qualifications and academic excellence shown of these recipients reflect the dedication and pride of the young people in the state of Minnesota who will enter the difficult but rewarding profession of law enforcement and public service,” the association said when announcing the scholarship recipients.

The association is supported by a group of 27 sustaining members who contribute to the scholarship program.

Dr. Janet Heuer, assistant professor of criminal justice; (218) 755-2833

Scholarship recipients, listed by hometown
• Milaca | 56353 | Danielle Walbridge, senior, criminal justice
• Pine River | 56474 | Tyler Carraway, senior, criminal justice
• Shakopee | 55379 | Wilford “Willie” Dellwo, senior, criminal justice and biology