BSU students to present work at state capitol

Three Bemidji State University students will present results of their undergraduate research during the first Minnesota Undergraduate Scholars presentation at the Minnesota state capitol building in St. Paul.

The academic showcase, which will be held in conjunction with the opening of the 2014 legislative season on Feb. 26, highlights work from students in the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system and provides those students with an outlet to share the results of their scholarly activity with legislators and other government officials.

MNWildlife_0019The three BSU students participating are all seniors – Rebecca Florke, a biology major from Spencer, Iowa; Lynda LaFond (pictured, right), a biology major from Akeley; and Michael Vaske, an aquatic biology major from Paynesville.

In “Development of split-Venus reporter proteins for detecting cellular activation of the GTPas, TCL,” Florke will display her findings on split-Venus reporter proteins using a detection system that uses fluorescent Venus proteins. Florke’s sponsor is Dr. Michael Hamann, associate professor of biology.

LaFond’s poster, “Species Diversity and Population Dynamics of Small Mammals on Grand Forks Air Force Base, North Dakota,” illustrates her summer 2013 research on small animals in several differently managed habitats. The poster explores small mammal habitats on restored prairie, old field, idle hay field and forested trail. She is sponsored by Dr. Elizabeth Rave, professor of biology.

In his poster, “Use of Cast Nets and Seine Hauls to Estimate Abundance of Age-0 Yellow Perch,” Vaske explores using littoral and limnetic zones to improve estimates of age-0 yellow perch populations. Vaske is sponsored by Dr. Andrew Hafs, assistant professor of biology.

Dr. Troy Gilbertson, professor of criminal justice, is BSU’s representative on the Minnesota Undergraduate Scholars Council. The council includes a community of collegiate institutions that fosters the research, scholarly work and creative activity of undergraduate students across Minnesota by providing opportunities for funding and outlets to present their work.

In addition to the three BSU students, the presentation will feature work by students from Anoka-Ramsey Community College; Inver Hills Community College; Minneapolis Community and Technical College; Metropolitan State University; Minnesota State University, Mankato; Minnesota State University, Moorhead; North Hennepin Community College; Rochester Community and Technical College; St. Cloud State University; Southwest Minnesota State University; and Winona State University.

• Dr. Troy Gilbertson, professor of criminal justice; (218) 755-2819.

BSU’s participants in the Minnesota Undergraduate Scholars presentation are listed below by hometown:

Akeley |564433| Lynda LaFond, senior, biology
Paynesville |56362| Michael Vaske, senior, aquatic biology

Spencer |51301| Rebecca Florke, senior, biology