Recognizing 730 years of service to Bemidji State

Bemidji State University recognized 53 employees with a combined 730 years of service to the University during its sixth annual Length of Service Awards ceremony, May 1, in the Beaux Arts Ballroom on campus. Employees who reached employment milestones between May 1, 2013 and April 30, 2014, were recognized at the ceremony.

40 years
Diane Renken, administrative technical specialist, Office of Admissions; Russell Hansen, director of programming, network and servers.

30 years
Cheryl Berglund, human resources specialist; John Holden, professor of technology, art & design.

25 years
Dr. Randall Ludeman, associate director of residential life; Dr. Carol Ann Russell, professor of English.

20 years
Dr. Laurie Desiderato, professor of psychology; Angela Downey, customer service specialist at the Center for Extended Learning; Dr. Richard Hook, professor of psychology; Dr. Elizabeth Rave, professor of biology; Dr. Glen Richgels, professor of mathematics and computer science; Dr. John Truedson, professor of physics; Ricky Turn, refrigeration mechanic.

15 years
Stephanie Bard, assistant director of financial aid; Dr. Mark Fulton, professor of biology; Joann Gardner, LeAnn Hensley, general maintenance worker; Dr. P. Bradley Logan, professor of music; Dr. Del Lyren, professor of music; Dr. James Mastro, professor of professional education; Brendan McManus, associate professor of history; Thomas Serratore, head men’s ice hockey coach; Dr. Marty Wolf, professor of mathematics and computer science; Sarah Young, associate professor of TRiO/Student Support Services.

10 years
Shawn Anderson, groundskeeper; Edward Belisle, assistant men’s hockey coach; Sheldon Brower, general maintenance worker; Marlene Erickson, office and administrative specialist for professional education; Dr. Jeanine Gangeness, founding dean, Bemidji School of Nursing; Michael Hedlund, general maintenance worker; Dr. Bonnie Higgins, professor of technology, art and design; Kenneth Hovland, electrician; Ayleen Leonhardt, residence hall director for Birch and Linden halls; Dennis Noska, plant maintenance engineer; Melvin Nygaard, athletic equipment manager; Michael Smith, machinery repair worker; Shelly Spears, general maintenance worker; Dr. Valerie Wallingford, associate professor of business administration.

5 years
Erika Bailey-Johnson, sustainability coordinator; Kristina Cirks, TRiO McNair associate director; Corinne Dauksavage, assistant athletic trainer; Dr. Angela Fournier, associate professor of psychology; Dr. Dean Frost, associate professor of business administration; Dr. John Gonzalez, associate professor of psychology; Dr. Nancy Hall, assistant professor of nursing; Dr. Heidi Hansen, assistant professor of mathematics and computer science; Lawrence Hanus, associate professor of counseling services; Diane Illies, business services supervisor; Sarah Levesque, associate director of athletics; Jeanette Lukowski, assistant professor of English; Kelly Martinka, office and administrative specialist for BSU Alumni Association; Toby Palmiscno, men’s hockey athletic equipment manager; Samuel Parsons, web developer; Anna Riedel, customer service specialist in Residential Life; Lisa Schmitz, assistant professor of DLiTE; Mehdi Sheikholeslami, professor of accounting; Travis Shock, assistant athletic trainer.