$16,900 in nursing scholarships awarded to 14 Bemidji State students

The Bemidji School of Nursing at Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College has announced departmental scholarship recipients the 2016-17 school year for students in the four-year baccalaureate and registered nurse-to-bachelor’s degree programs.

The scholarships are but one part of Bemidji State’s commitment to offer a variety of scholarship opportunities to as many students as possible. In total, BSU will present more than $3 million in academic, talent and leadership scholarships this year. Awards are made possible through donations to BSU Alumni & Foundation and other organizations that specify funds for student scholarships. Most scholarships at BSU are awarded for outstanding achievement and academic merit.

• BSU Department of Nursing, (218) 755-3860, NursingDept@bemidjistate.edu
• Bemidji State University’s Office of Financial Aid, (218) 755-2034

2016-17 Bemidji School of Nursing scholarship recipients; by hometown

Akeley |56433| Karly Drurly, senior; St. Joseph’s Area Health Services Nursing Scholarship, $1,000
Becker |55308| Jennifer Scheeler, senior; Nursing Scholarship Endowment, $1,000
Clitherall |56524| Dana Meemken, senior; Ron Batchelder Scholarship, $1,350
East Bethel | 55005 | Stephanie Harnin, senior; Joelyn Scriba Nursing Scholarship, $1,100
Gonvick |56644| Jessica Spray, senior; Loris Westrom Nursing Scholarship, $1,250
Leonard |56652| Allison Godin, senior; Ron Batchelder Scholarship, $1,350
McIntosh |56556| Emily Ferden, senior; Bertha Evenson Memorial Fund, $900
Oklee |56742| Mikayla Paradis, junior; Loris Westrom Nursing Scholarship, $1,250
Pierz |56364| Shelbie Boser, senior; Marjory C. Beck Nursing Scholarship, $500
Saint Paul |55106| Rose Lee, senior; Amelia Dalzotto Nursing Scholarship, $900

Grafton |58237| Aleksey Martinez, junior; Bertha Evenson Memorial Fund, $900
Grafton |58237| Hannah Suda, junior; Harold T. Peters Scholarship, $600

Eagle River |99577| Grace Ogden, junior; Jeanette Moe-Pearce Memorial Scholarship, $2,000

Lagos | Solomon Adepitan, junior; Jeanette Moe-Pearce Memorial Scholarship, $2,800

Bemidji State University, located in northern Minnesota’s lake district, occupies a wooded campus along the shore of Lake Bemidji. Enrolling nearly 5,000 students, Bemidji State offers more than 80 undergraduate majors and 11 graduate degrees encompassing arts, sciences and select professional programs. BSU is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system and has a faculty and staff of more than 550. University signature themes include environmental stewardship, civic engagement and global and multi-cultural understanding.