University Scholar Headlines BSU’s Fall Honors Council Lecture Series Lineup

Four Bemidji State University faculty members, including recently recognized University Scholar Dr. Marty J. Wolf, will present lectures to the BSU campus community as part of the university’s fall Honors Council Lecture Series.

Wolf, a professor of computer science, will deliver the fall’s first lecture on Oct. 5, followed by Dr. Daniel Guentchev, assistant assistant professor of philosophy; Dr. Larry Swain, assistant professor of English; and Miriam Webber, assistant professor of music.

Honors Council Lecture Series

The Honors Council Lecture Series is hosted by the Bemidji State University Honors Council, the advisory group to BSU’s honors program composed of 12 faculty members representing each of the university’s colleges. Student representatives are also elected to the council by their cohorts for one-year terms.

University Scholars

University Scholars honors are bestowed by the university president on faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding teaching, service or scholarship over three successive years, as judged by the faculty member’s department and immediate supervisor. Factors for consideration include scholarly publications, recognition for creative or artistic work, development of research programs, or other scholarly activity performed at an exemplary level.

Bemidji State’s first group of University Scholars was announced by former BSU President Dr. Richard A. Hanson at the university’s Commencement ceremony in May 2016. The three scholars were:

  • Dr. Joann Fredrickson, professor of business,
  • Dr. John Gonzalez, professor of psychology, and
  • Dr. Marty J. Wolf, professor of computer science.

In conjunction with their University Scholars recognition, scholars will present their work during the university’s Honors Council Lecture Series. Fredrickson and Gonzalez will present their lectures this spring.

Fall Honors Council Lecture Series

  • Oct. 5 – Dr. Marty J. Wolf, professor of computer science; 7 p.m., Hagg-Sauer Hall 112
  • Oct. 11 – Dr. Daniel Guentchev, assistant professor of philosophy; 7 p.m., location TBA
  • Oct. 27 – Dr. Larry Swain, assistant professor of English; 7 p.m., location TBA
  • Nov. 14 – Miriam Webber, assistant professor of music; 7 p.m., location TBA


  • Dr. Season Ellison, assistant professor of interdisciplinary studies and director, liberal education and honors program; (218) 755-3355,
  • Kari Caughey, BSU honors program; (218) 755-3984,


Bemidji State University, located in northern Minnesota’s lake district, occupies a wooded campus along the shore of Lake Bemidji. A member of the colleges and universities of Minnesota State, Bemidji State offers more than 80 undergraduate majors and 11 graduate degrees encompassing arts, sciences and select professional programs. Bemidji State has an enrollment of approximately 5,000 students and a faculty and staff of more than 550. University signature themes include environmental stewardship, civic engagement and global and multi-cultural understanding.