Bemidji State University Faculty Promotions and Tenures for 2019-20

Dr. Faith C. Hensrud, president of Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College, announced faculty members who have been promoted or newly tenured at the start of the fall 2019 semester. She also announced faculty who will be pursing their research interests during sabbaticals during the 2019-20 school year.

Tenures and Promotions:
College of Arts, Education & Humanities

  • Dr. Porter Coggins, professor of professional education, promoted
  • Dr. John Ellis, associate professor of history, tenured and promoted
  • Scott Guidry, associate professor of music, tenured and promoted
  • Dr. Michael Lund, associate professor of technology, art & design, tenured and promoted
  • Dr. Sonia O’Bryan, associate professor of professional education, tenured and promoted

College of Business, Mathematics & Science

  • Dr. Kelly La Venture, associate professor business administration, tenured and promoted
  • Dr. David Massaglia, associate professor of accountancy, tenured and promoted

College of Individual and Community Health

  • Dr. Jessica LeTexier, associate professor of nursing, tenured and promoted
  • Dr. Shannon Norman, associate professor of human performance, sport & health, tenured and promoted
  • Dr. Tara Pierce, assistant professor of nursing, tenured
  • Dr. Jeffrey Ueland, professor of sustainability studies, promoted

2019-2020 Sabbatical Leaves
Academic Year

  • Dr. Jessica Durgan, associate professor of English
  • Dr. Mary Fairbanks, professor of nursing
  • Dr. Mark Fulton, professor of biology
  • Dr. Timothy Goodwin, associate professor of professional education
  • Dr. Daniel Guentchev, associate professor of philosophy
  • Dr. Sachel Josefson, associate professor of technology, art & design
  • Dr. Kate Larson, associate professor of psychology
  • Dr. Katie Peterson, associate professor of chemistry
  • Dr. Cory Renbarger, associate professor of music
  • Dr. Debra Sea, associate professor of integrated media
  • Dr. Mehdi Sheikholeslami, professor of accountancy
  • Dr. Halbana Tarmizi, associate professor of business administration

Fall Semester 2019

  • Dr. Janet Heuer, associate professor of criminal justice
  • Dr. Sheila Paul, professor of nursing
  • Dr. Carol Ann Russell, professor of English

Spring Semester 2020

  • Lyle Meulebroeck, associate professor of technology, art & design

MN State logoBemidji State University, located amid the lakes and forests of northern Minnesota, occupies a wooded campus along the shore of Lake Bemidji. Enrolling more than 5,100 students, Bemidji State offers more than 80 undergraduate majors and eight graduate degrees encompassing arts, sciences and select professional programs. BSU is a member of the Minnesota State system of colleges and universities and has a faculty and staff of more than 550. The university’s Shared Fundamental Values include environmental stewardship, civic engagement and international and multicultural understanding. For more, visit or find us at BemidjiState on most of your favorite social media networks.