Dr. John L. Hoffman Inaugurated as the President of BSU & NTC

On Friday, October 14, President John L. Hoffman was formally inaugurated as Bemidji State University and Northwest Technical College’s next President.

The 2 p.m. ceremony began with an Academic Procession into the BSU gymnasium in the Physical Education Complex and included remarks from Pebaamibines, associate professor of Indigenous studies, Kim Lynch, vice president for academic affairs (interim) at Northwest Technical College, Dr. Allen Bedford, provost and vice president for academic affairs at Bemidji State University, Mr. Joe Grabowski, president of the Bemidji State University Foundation board, Erin Ecternach, president of the Northwest Technical College Foundation Board, Devinder Malhotra, chancellor of Minnesota State, Roger Moe, Board of Trustees chairperson and Chrissy Downwind, executive director of the American Indian Resource Center.

Downwind presented Hoffman with the presidential medallion while Lee Lussier Jr., lead singer for Eyabay Drum Group from Red Lake Nation, performed an honor song accompanied by Native American dancers.
Under the direction of Dwight Jilek, The Bemidji Choir performed “Flight Song” by Kim Andre Arneson (2015) in addition to “The Star Spangled Banner.” The prelude, processional and recessional were performed by the BSU Wind Ensemble, directed by Scott Guidry, associate professor of Instrumental Music and director of bands at Bemidji State University.
Delegates serving as designated representatives of their institutions and organizations were also present for the inauguration. Dr. Mark Fulton, professor of biology, served as the Bemidji State University marshal and Ms. Ashley Anderson, nursing faculty, served as the Northwest Technical College marshal.