History offers scholarships for students demonstrating academic excellence and financial need.

To be eligible for all scholarships at BSU, fill out the Foundation Scholarship Application before Feb 1st.

Dewitt C. Dunham Scholarship

Criteria: Major in History.

Gerald M. Schnabel History Scholarship

Criteria: Student studying in a major in history.

Harold Hagg History Scholarship

Criteria: Junior or senior history major with minimum 3.0 GPA and financial aid need.

League of Women Voters Bemidji Area-Hazel Shimmin Scholarship

Criteria: Junior or senior Political Science Major. Secondary consideration to Social Studies/Social Service major. Required 3.0 GPA, preference to a woman.

Political Science Internship Scholarship

Criteria: Junior or senior with an interest in politics and public policy, with a preference given to those students with a declared major in political science or social studies who will participate in an internship related to politics/policy in the metropolitan Twin Cities or the Washington D.C. region.

Ruth Brune Mangelsdorf Memorial Scholarship

Criteria: Alpha Phi Sigma member majoring in Humanities or English Literature. Financial need is a secondary consideration.


Bemidji State University, in partnership with the Beltrami County Historical Society, offers several paid internships per year. These internships are funded through a combination of grant money from the BCHS and student work money facilitated through BSU. For inquiries, please contact either Dr. Dan Allosso (dan.allosso@bemidjistate.edu) or Dr. John Ellis (john.ellis@bemidjistate.edu).