Skip Navigation

BSU News - News & Updates


Bemidji State alumni win four state-level seats in yesterday’s elections

BEMIDJI, Minn. (Nov. 3, 2010) — Former Beavers captured four seats in the Minnesota state legislature during the Nov. 2 elections, as alumni of Bemidji State University won races for three seats in the state House of Representatives and one seat in the state Senate.

Bemidji State University alumni who were victorious in state-level elections yesterday were:

• John Persell, DFL, State Representative District 4a
• Torrey Westrom, Republican, State Representative District 11a
• Bob Dettmer, Republican, State Representative District 52a
• John Carlson, Republican, State Senator District 4

Research done by the Bemidji State University Office of Communications and Marketing.

UPDATE - added John Persell (Nov. 4)

About Bemidji State University Bemidji State University, located in northern Minnesota’s lake district, occupies a wooded campus along the shore of Lake Bemidji. Enrolling more than 5,000 students, the University offers more than 50 undergraduate majors and nine graduate programs encompassing arts, sciences and select professional programs. The University is a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system and has a faculty and staff of more than 550. University signature themes include environmental stewardship, civic engagement and global and multi-cultural understanding. For further information about the University, visit Become a fan of Bemidji State University on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.